

Wisconsin Rapids Board of Education

510 Peach Street · Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494 · (715) 424-6701

John A. Krings, President
John Benbow, Jr.
Larry Davis
Sandra K. Hett
Anne Lee
Katie Medina
Mary E. Rayome

SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING OPEN SESSION

LOCATION: Thomas A. Lenk Educational Center, 510 Peach Street, Wisconsin Rapids, WI 54494

March 14, 2016

Conference Room C

TIME: Immediately Following Regular Board of Education Meeting

PRESENT: John Krings, Sandra Hett, Anne Lee, Katie Medina, John Benbow, Mary Rayome, Larry Davis

ADMINISTRATION PRESENT: Colleen Dickmann

President John Krings called the meeting to order at 6:35 p.m.

Roll Call

Motion by Sandra Hett, seconded by Mary Rayome to move into closed session pursuant to Wis. Stats. §19.85(1)(c) for the purpose of considering individual administrator contracts wages, and benefit information as well as individual wage and benefit compensation of non-represented employees. Motion carried unanimously on a roll call vote.

Motion by Larry Davis, seconded by John Benbow to move into open session at 7:58 p.m. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Larry Davis to approve of a wage increase of 1.62% for the school psychologists, the physical therapist, and the confidential secretary group for the 2015-16 school year, retroactive to July 1, 2015. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Katie Medina to approve of an increase in professional association dues for school psychologists from \$500 to \$800 per year, and to increase the education reimbursement expense from \$350 to \$500 per graduation credit, effective July 1, 2016. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Larry Davis to approve of a wage increase of 1.62% for administrators for the 2015-16 school year, retroactive to July 1, 2015. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to modify the administrator Tax Sheltered Annuity (TSA) contribution program implemented on July 1, 2014 as follows (contribution level of \$500 for the 2014-15 fiscal year remains the same, while incremental amounts based upon years of experience begins with 2015-16 contribution year):

◆ 1-5 years administrative experience in District: \$500 matching contribution (Administrators in years 1-4 receive \$0 until their <u>fifth</u> year of employment, at which time the Board will make them whole.)

- ♦ 6-10 years administrative experience in District: \$750 matching contribution
- ◆ 11+ years administrative experience in District: \$1,000 matching contribution

Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Mary Rayome, seconded by Larry Davis to allow year-round administrators who have five or more years of administrative experience in the District to take up to five additional days off during student/staff breaks on non-instructional and/or non-professional development days during the school year without using vacation time effective July 1, 2016. These days are non-cumulative, and are not attached to the vacation benefit. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by John Benbow, seconded by Larry Davis to approve a wage increase for Colleen Dickmann, Superintendent, of \$10,000.00 for 2015-16, retroactive to July 1, 2015; and an additional increase of \$12,000.00 for 2016-17. Motion carried unanimously.

President Krings adjourned the meeting at 8:09 p.m.

John A. Krings – President

Maurine Hodgson – Secretary

Larry Davis - Clerk